Rodeo Moms

I have been a part of sports all my life. From T-Ball to Soccer to Basketball to yes, Rodeo. There is always a different side of the game when it comes to the parents. Sometimes, the parents are far more entertaining than the children and the game! Fights, yelling, throwing of -things-, and of course the unending, die hard support of their child’s team.

_____________________________________________________________________

But I am going to look at this from a particularly biased standpoint and say that there is NOTHING that compares to the parents of rodeo… specifically rodeo MOMS.

Rodeo moms are their own breed.

1) Rodeo Moms will NEVER miss an entry

It just doesn’t happen. Due by when? It WILL be there. Count on it.

2) They will spend hours writing down times

They won’t miss a time either, and if they do, they will hunt. it. down. Why find out where we place the next day when we can find out where we place right now!

3) They aren’t afraid to drive the big rigs

I’ve seen it. From RV’s, to full on semis, to towing a living quarters behind them… They’ll get the job done.

4) They are the loudest ones at the rodeos

No for real… I never knew these moms could be so loud. But boy can everyone hear them! KICK DOWN, GET OFF, LOOK, HUSSLE, GO ON. You hear it all.

5) They get nervous, too

Sometimes more than their child.. I know that they look pretty calm cool and collected all the time, but trust me, your mom is just as nervous as you are.

6) They are amazing multi-taskers

Thank you for holding my horse, taking a video of my run, AND writing down all the times. Oh AND yelling at me during my run.

7) They aren’t afraid to tell you how it is

From every missed start, wide barrel, mis-stuffed goat, they will let. you. know. EXACTLY what happened in your run.

8) They want nothing more than for you to reach your goals

Rodeo moms will go leaps and bounds just to see you happy. They will do anything and everything they can just so that you can pull up to all your rodeos each weekend. You are their life. It is because of them that we all get the chance to accomplish our dreams.

9) Rodeo Mom’s are God’s biggest blessing.

Enough said.

To My Mom,

Thank you for continuously supporting me. Day in and day out you motivate me to work the hardest that I possibly can, because you do the same for me. You show me what unconditional love looks like. Even in the roughest of times, we have not missed a rodeo, and that is because of YOU. You push me to be the best athlete that I can, and for that, I will forever push myself in and out of the arena for you. There’s nothing else that could compare to the sacrifices that you make for me every day. I love you and I hope that I am making you proud.

14 thoughts on “Rodeo Moms

  1. Oh Baby Girl… Big FAT tears streaming down my face! I could not be more proud to be your mom! You are beyond amazing and I love you with all my heart! Thank you for taking me along on your journey!! I love you!! ❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  2. I know my children (I have 5) loved going to the horse shows and feel they have had the best childhood ever because we were always headed to the shows. I agree with everything you said in this article. The one thing I would add though is rodeo moms insist on good sportsmanship! It is like a family, and we cheer for everyone! I love that. I would also add that I loved it as much as my children. I feel like it was a wonderful blessing given to my family. Thank God for Roeos and horse shows!

    Like

  3. WOW, WHAT CAN I SAY? I AM VERY HAPPY TO HAVE BEEN ABLE TO YELL, CRY, TELL YOU TO LOOK,GO, KICK,KICK,BE ONE WITH YOUR HORSE,BE HAPPY,WATCH YOU HOLD YOUR HAT ON,SO YOU DIDNT HAVE TO PAY 50 DOLLARS, DUST YOUR PANTS OFF AND CRY FOR A VERY LOVED HORSE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WOULD DO IT AGAIN IN A SECOND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WONDERFULL MOMENTS AND VERY PROUD OF MY HARD WORKING DAUGHTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE ALWAYS,MOM

    Like

  4. Tears rolling down my cheeks right now ! Yes yes this is what we Moms do for our Rodeo kids! I wouldn’t change anything about raising my children this way. I am very proud of my girls inside the arena and out ! I believe a lot has to do with with the sport of Rodeo doing what they love with the most important people in life your Family and good rodeo friends❤️thank you for posting and tagging me Fallon

    Like

  5. I am so proud of you. Glad you realize all that your mom does to make all this possible. You are not only outstanding, smart and good at all you do,you are loving and appreciative. You
    make me proud to be your grandmother. Love you.

    Like

  6. I love being a rodeo mom and participant. There isn’t anything I wouldn’t do to see that smile on my son’s face doing something he loves.

    Like

  7. I am a big cheerleader for my granddaughter for barrel racing. I have the loudest mouth out of them all except my daughter, the rodeo mom, to yell cheers for my granddaughter. It is absolutely amazing.

    Like

  8. Love being a rodeo mom! It is an exhausting but exhillarating job that I wouldn’t give up for anything. We also give up manicures and pedicures so the horses can get shoed and get their very expensive supplements and dentist visits and chiropractor visits. All so our kids and their horses can make that perfect run and we can be there to see it!!! Worth every penny!

    Like

Leave a Reply

